Hey, Senpai!

AKB48 to Hold “Meet the Guest” Reception at AX

Posted on: June 11, 2010

So my boyfriend follows the Anime Expo Twitter and about choked earlier this evening when he got a message. It seems AKB48 is holding a reception on June 30th at 6 PM where fans will have the opportunity to meet AKB48 members. The cost is $100 per ticket (onsite only, no preregistration) – while far more than the average anime fan would be willing to pay, as a wota it seems more than reasonable for the chance to actually meet and speak with the girls in a limited-attendance context, no?

I am going to be in LA during this show – maybe staffing, maybe not. While neither my boyfriend or myself is really an AKB wota – he bought a few of their singles while we were in Japan and I usually kind of grumble and admit that the A-sides are pretty catchy at least – we’ll be trying to take in as many of their events as we can, possibly including this meet and greet (while not missing out on Manoeri at MAX either!). In the next few weeks you’ll see me making an attempt to learn a bit about the girls so that the experience is more fun.

Y’know, I love this idea and I really wish MM fans had this opportunity available to them last year. My boyfriend and I had excellent seats for the concert and I wouldn’t trade that experience for anything. I still cry when I hear Mikan because I remember how exciting it was to be part of that crowd. I also got to meet Yossi, which was absolutely amazing! However, both of us missed out on all of the MM autograph sessions (not for lack of trying, believe me!) and I get a little disappointed every time I think about it. I eventually ended up with autographs, but that’s a story for another time. I just remember thinking at AX that more than an autograph or anything I wanted to be able to just look Mittsi in the face, even for just a moment, and thank her for all of her hard work and the way she never fails to brighten my day.

I hope that all you AKB fans out there are able to find a way to take advantage of this opportunity because it’s pretty amazing. If I can find the money I’d love to take advantage of the chance, too. How often do you get to talk to an idol singer?

Leave a Reply

